2016-17 SATW Foundation
Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition

Welcome to the premier competition recognizing and rewarding excellence in the field of travel journalism that serves the public with unbiased information and enhances understanding of the destination or experience. The 2016-17 SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is the 33rd annual contest, offering 23 categories for print, online and multimedia work, travel photography, audio and video broadcast, and blogs.

The contest is handled electronically, using the BetterBNC Media Awards Platform.

Here is a quick look at this year’s contest, followed by links to details about entering and more information.

  • Entry deadline: April 1, 2017.
  • Eligibility: Entrants must be North American journalists. Foreign journalists living/working outside North America are not eligible.
  • Covered period: Work must have been published/produced between April 1, 2016, and March 31, 2017, except as noted in specific categories.
  • Mailing alert: Electronic submissions are required for most categories, but some entries, such as books and magazine issues, must be mailed. Plan ahead. Overnight shipments really don’t get to our address the next day, despite what a shipper may promise.  

First step: CLICK HERE FOR DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS for entering. You must do the steps outlined to be able to access the entry materials.

CLICK HERE for Rules & Eligibility details: Check these before you start. Once you have signed up to enter the contest, you will find these guidelines also under Contest Info/Instructions at the contest website.

CLICK HERE for a full list of categories and fees.  

CLICK HERE for more information on audio and video entries.

Click here to go to the BetterBNC website and the 2016-17 SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition.

Click here for Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about entering the contest.

For questions and more information, contact us at awards@satwf.com.

Winners of the 2016-17 SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition will be announced the last week of October 2017 at the SATW Convention in Madrid, Spain, and via email and on the Foundation website, www.satwf.com.

The SATW Foundation awards nearly $20,000 annually in prize money to individual winners. The Grand Award earns the gold winner $1,500, the silver winner $750 and the bronze place $500. In individual categories, first-place gold winners each receive $500, with $250 going to silver and $150 to bronze winners. The categories for Best Newspaper Travel Coverage, Best Magazines and Best Travel Journalism Websites are not given monetary awards.

The sustainability of the annual SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is assisted by generous contributions from Gold Supporter CARNIVAL CORP. and our other Top Supporters. Their contributions help make the prizes possible and support the future of quality travel media. The SATW Foundation thanks
Carnival Corporation and its 10 brands including Carnival Cruise Line, Princess and Holland America, the 30 Partners for 30 Years and other contributors for their support in recognizing and rewarding excellence in travel journalism.