Congratulations 2017 Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Award winners.
Please use this occasion to trumpet your success and draw attention to the best of what travel journalists do, serving their readers with honest, ethical, accurate, responsible accounts and pictures of the Earth and its people.
We provide an overall press release and a template release, but if you are writing your own article, here are key points to include. Links are provided, if desired.
  • The 2016-2017 Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is sponsored by the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) Foundation. Please be sure to use the word “Foundation.”
  • Awards were announced at the SATW annual convention, held this year in Portland, Oregon.
  • This is the 33rd annual Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition and drew 1,190 entries. The competition is open to all North American journalists.
  • Judges are faculty at the University of Missouri School of Journalism, with Prof. John Fennell, Prof. Jennifer Rowe and administrative assistant Kim Townlain coordinating.
  • The SATW Foundation annually distributes nearly $20,000 in prize money to individual winners. 
  • In 2017, there are 89 awards in 24 categories honoring outstanding print, online, and multimedia work, travel photography, and audio and video broadcasts.
  • Contributions by Gold Supporter Carnival Corp. and other donors help sustain the competition and make prizes possible to recognize outstanding work in travel journalism. 
  • The awards are named for Lowell Thomas, acclaimed broadcast journalist, prolific author and world explorer during five decades in journalism.
Media contact: Mary Lu Abbott,