Saluting Our ‘30 Partners for 30 Years’

In 2014, the SATW Foundation celebrated the 30th anniversary of its prestigious Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition. We aim to continue fulfilling our mission to recognize and reward excellence in travel journalism for another 30 years and more.

Annually the SATW Foundation gives nearly $20,000 in prize money for its awards to outstanding travel journalists. We raise this money through donations, which are tax-deductible.

In celebration of our 30th anniversary and to help ensure the future of the Lowell Thomas Awards, we launched a “30 Partners for 30 Years” campaign, seeking 30 Partners to give $1,000 each. All donations went toward funding the Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition.

We are pleased to recognize the following individuals, companies and groups for becoming 30-30 Partners in support of the SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition. The Foundation Board of Directors expresses sincere appreciation to each donor.

Thank You to Our Partners
For Sustaining Excellence in Travel Journalism

Individuals Agencies/Corporates SATW Groups
A "BIG Thank You" to these individuals
who support the "30-30" Program
Martha W. Steger
Freelance Writer/Editor
Member since 1986
Marco Polo honoree
SATW Foundation Director
Peter Fitzsimons
Executive Director
Petoskey Area Visitors Bureau, MI
Member since 1999
SATW President's Cup
Cynthia Boal Janssens
Editor, Chief Blogger

Member since 1980
SATW Past President
SATW Foundation Trustee
Mary Lu Abbott
Editor Emeritus, Where to Retire

Member since 1980
Marco Polo honoree
SATW Foundation Administrator

SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Robert Haru Fisher
Editor, Fisher Publications Inc.
Member since 1963
SATW Past President

SATW Foundation Trustee/Past President
Carol W. Fowler
Freelance Writer
Member since 1992

SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Past SATW Foundation Director
Tom Adkinson, APR
VP, Director of Communications
BOHAN Advertising
Member since 1987
Marco Polo honoree
SATW Foundation Director
Dave G. Houser
Houser Travel Writing & Photography
And Jan Butchofsky
Travel Photographer
Members since 1981/94
Houser: Past SATW Foundation Director,

SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Larry Bleiberg
Larry Bleiberg Editorial Services
Liliane J.M. Opsomer
Deputy Director/Media Relations
Tourist Office for Flanders-Brussels
Members since 1997/96
SATW Foundation Director/Trustee
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Donation made in memory of Liz Bleiberg.
Neil and Judith Morgan
Neil: Senior Editor/Commentator
Judith: Freelance Writer

Members since 1972/75
Neil: SATW Foundation Director
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Stuart G. Newman
President, Stuart Newman Associates

Member since 1960
Marco Polo honoree
SATW Foundation Director
Jeanne Westphal
Jeanne Westphal Associates

Member since 1966
Marco Polo honoree
Past SATW Foundation Director
John D. Macdonald
Travel Editor Emeritus
The Seattle Times

Member since 1985
SATW Foundation Trustee
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Robert N. Jenkins
Freelance Writer
Member since 1991
Marco Polo honoree
SATW Foundation Director
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Len Barnes
Editor Emeritus, Michigan Living
And Karen Lingo

Members since 1960/74
Barnes: SATW Past President,
SATWF Founding Director Emeritus
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
David G. Molyneaux
And Fran Golden
Cruise and Travel Editor/Writer
Members since 1989/2012
SATW Foundation President
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Paul Lasley
Executive Producer/Editor
On Travel Media
And Elizabeth Harryman
Travel Editor
Westways Magazine
Members since 1985/87
Both SATWF Lowell Thomas award winners
SATW Foundation Director
Chairman, SATW Western Chapter
Jane Wooldridge
Executive Business Editor
The Miami Herald
And Elliot Gillies
President, Gillies & Zaiser

Members since 1993/2000
Both SATW Foundation Trustees
SATWF Lowell Thomas award winner
Gillies: Marco Polo honoree
Marcia Levin
Freelance Writer
And Heidi M. Allison-Shane
CEO, Shane and Shane Inc.

Members since 1995/06
Levin: SATW Past President
Return to top;
Lafayette Convention and
Visitors Commission

Benjamin J. Berthelot
Executive Director
1400 NW Evangeline Trwy
Lafayette, LA 70501-2829
Nancy J. Friedman Public Relations

Nancy J. Friedman

Member since 1982
Lou Hammond & Associates

Lou Rena Hammond

Member since 1984

Laura Davidson Public Relations

Laura Davidson, President
Leslie Cohen, Executive Vice President
Members since 1988/89

Detroit Metro Convention
& Visitors Bureau

Renee Monforton
Director of Communications

Member since 1997

Grapevine Convention & Visitors Bureau





Paul W. McCallum, Executive Director
Michael W. Woody, Asst. Exec. Director
Woody: Member since 2012

Geoffrey Weill Associates

Geoffrey Weill
Member since 1979

Cheryl Andrews Marketing Communications

Cheryl Andrews
Member since 1993
Sheila Donnelly & Associates

Honolulu & New York
Sheila Donnelly Theroux


Would you like to become
a 30-30 Partner?
Contact SATW Foundation trustee
Cindy Janssens at:


Return to top;
  SATW Groups
SATW Central States Chapter Combo Partnership 
The following donors combined for a Partnership totaling $1,020.
Vickie Ashford
Mary Bergin
Kimberly Chapman
Michael Frome
Tom Griffith
Mary Hendron
Betsa Marsh
Diana Lambdin Meyer
Ami Simpson
Annette Thompson
Patricia Winn Wood
Kansas City Convention & Visitors Association
Chicago Area SATW Gang
With the leadership of Katherine Rodeghier, the following group combined donations
for a Partnership totaling $1,520.
Kit Bernardi
Terri Colby
Elaine Glusac
Richard C. Griffith
Frank Klicar
Randy Mink
Karen Torme Olson
Katherine Rodeghier
Alan Solomon
Jerry Soverinsky
Skip Strittmatter
Gail Todd
Susan B. Ward
Todd Wessell
Patricia Wood Winn
Casey Sachs Communications
Donna K. Smith Public Relations
 SATW Eastern Chapter
The chapter has donated $1,000 to be a Partner.
 SATW Western Chapter
The chapter has donated $1,000 to be a Partner.