Society of American Travel Writers Foundation
Annual Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition

We have compiled lists of past winners as we celebrate more than 30 years of the Lowell  Thomas Travel Journalism Competition. Our first awards were presented in 1985 for work published in 1984. For the first two decades, our contest ran on the calendar year, for work from January 1 through December 31. In 2001, the contest was changed to span spring to spring, overlapping years. Thus, clicking the year 2002 below brings up winners for work done in 2001-02. The following years are similar time spans.

Click on each year to see winners.

Use the Search field at bottom of this page to find names of winning publications and journalists. This will bring up a list of years in which the name appears. Then use your Brower’s search function to find the name on that specific page/list.

1985 (work published in 1984) 2000 2015
1986 2001 2016
1987  2002 (work published in 2001-02) 2017
1988  2003 2018
1989 2004 2019
1990  2005 2020
1991 2006 2021
1992 2007  
1993 2008  
1994 2009  
1995 2010  
1996 2011  
 1997 2012  
 1998 2013  
 1999  2014  

If you are interested in searching the database of SATW Foundation's Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition past winners, please use the search section below.

We have tallied the number of awards that some journalists and media have won over the 37 years. CLICK HERE to see who the big winners are.

SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Videos For Past Seven Years:

2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015

Here are a few photos of past winners of the SATW Foundation's Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition:

At the 2007 SATW Conference in Manchester, England, Foundation president David Molyneaux, center, honored SATW members who won Lowell Thomas Awards. Beth Ann Fennelly, right, accepts her 2013 Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Award from SATW Foundation administrator Mary Lu Abbott at Square Books in Oxford, MS, where Fennelly directs the MFA program at University of Mississippi. Winners in the 2017 SATW Foundation's Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition were honored at the SATW Conference in Portland, Oregon.
The search box below will show findings BELOW the search box.