Who We Are

Board of Directors

Contact Us

Donate to the SATW Foundation


30+ Years of Rewarding Journalists for Outstanding Work in the Field

The SATW Foundation sponsors the annual Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition. The first contest honored work done in 1984. Today the Foundation awards nearly $20,000 annually in prize money for outstanding print, online and multimedia works and for travel photography and both audio and video broadcast. It is the premier competition in North America in the field of travel journalism. It has gained its stature for several reasons, most notably:
* it does not promote any particular destination or travel product,
* it is open to all North American journalists, not just SATW members, and
* it is judged independently by the faculty at top U.S. schools of journalism.
Follow Us On:

2019-20 Lowell Thomas Contest Deadline Extended to April 10

In response to challenges rising from the coronavirus threat, we are extending the deadline to April 10 for entering this year’s Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition.
We have heard from journalists who must work from home rather than go into the office for the next few weeks. Thus they may not be able to access and process materials they want to enter the contest by April 1.
If you’re in a situation needing the extra time, we would appreciate your sending a message to Mary Lu Abbott, at MaryLuA@satwf.com. We will work with you to assure you can enter this year.
If you can make your entries by April 1, we would appreciate your doing so. If not, then enter as soon as possible within the extension to April 10. 
All information about entering the contest is at our website, satwf.com.
If you have questions or need assistance entering the contest,  email us at awards@satwf.com.

The sustainability of the annual SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is made possible by a generous contribution from Gold Supporter CARNIVAL CORP., the world's largest cruise company with a portfolio of brands in North America, Europe, Australia and Asia, including Carnival Cruise Line, Holland America Line, Cunard, Seabourn, and Princess Cruises. Its contribution helps make the prizes possible and supports the future of quality travel media. The SATW Foundation thanks CARNIVAL CORP., the 30 Partners for 30 Years and other contributors for their support in recognizing and rewarding excellence in travel journalism.

The sustainability of the annual SATW Foundation Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is supported by generous contributions from CARNIVAL CORP.
and other Top Supporters.
GOLD SUPPORTER Carnival Corporation is the world’s largest cruise company with a portfolio of cruise brands in North America, Europe, Australia and Asia, featuring Carnival Cruise Line, Cunard, Holland America Line, Princess Cruises, Seabourn, AIDA Cruises, Costa Cruises, P&O Cruises (Australia) and P&O Cruises (UK). Its brands, dedicated to annually providing great vacations to millions of passengers, sail over 100 ships to over 700 ports.

The Foundation

We are a nonprofit 501 (c) (3) foundation, started in the 1980s. Our mission is to recognize and reward outstanding work in travel journalism. The Foundation funds the competition through entry fees and donations, which are tax-deductible. 

 Society of American Travel Writers (SATW)

The Society of American Travel Writers is the pre-eminent professional association of travel journalists. Click here to learn more or visit the SATW Web site, www.satw.org. 

Sign up for the SATW Foundation Email Newsletter -

Click Here